Quiet Always

photo by Elene Usdin

Drunk he came daily,
hardly caring for family,
I remained quiet,
in hope he will come to light,
that was extent of my trust.

Lethargic in his duties,
blunt in capabilities,
I remained quiet,
in hope he will never fight,
that was extent of my love.

A quarrel became violent,
with my death it came to end,
with open eyes, I remained quiet,
in hope to see you again in my sight
that was the extent of my wait.

This poem is linked to Magpie Tales #249 ( photo), Poetry Jam (Quiet), Three Word Wednesday #405 ( blunt, drunk , lethargic )

15 thoughts on “Quiet Always

  1. Sometimes we need to make our voices heard..not fight back but fight for ourselves perhaps…as always powerful and distinctively restrained…which leaves an even stronger empathy for your character

  2. oy sometimes staying quiet may not be the best thing…especially when we see someone going down a path that is unhealthy…though they dont always want to hear it either…hard for me to stay quiet…smiles.

  3. What a sad tale this is. Even with caution this seemed to end badly for the person speaking in the poem. I guess quiet does not always work. Thank you for sharing this.

Leave a Reply

